Our university, founded with the law numbered 5662, on 29th May 2007, started its educational activities with the assignation of Prof. Dr. Azmi ÖZCAN as Rector in December 2007.


The establishment took place with the foundation of Faculty of Science and Letters, Faculty of Engineering, Graduate School of Social Sciences and Graduate School of Science.


The Faculty of Economics and Administrative Science, Osmaneli, Pazaryeri, Gölpazarı, Söğüt Vocational Schools which were prior Faculty and Vocational Schools of Dumlupınar University, Health College of Osmangazi University, Central Vocational School and Bozüyük Vocational School of Anadolu University were embodied in our university.


“Bilecik University” was renamed as “Bilecik Şeyh Edebali University” with the law effectuated and published in the Official Gazette with the number of 28276 on the 27th April, 2012.


As per the 130th Article of Turkish Republic Constitution and the 13th Article of the Higher Education Law 2547, Professor İbrahim Taş was assigned as the Rector of Bilecik Şeyh Edebali University by our President Recep Tayyip ERDOĞAN.